• Print:
  • Share:
Image of an arctic weather station on a bright day

CIFAR understands that the search for knowledge is the defining feature of humanity’s great, unfolding story.

Richard Ivey
Chair of Principal Gifts Campaign

CIFAR By the Numbers

CIFAR’s annual budget is $16 million. Currently, there are 11 interdisciplinary research programs.

Since the Institute’s inception, 14 Nobel Laureates have been associated with CIFAR.


  • Roger B. Myerson (Economic Sciences), Institutions, Organizations & Growth
  • George A. Akerlof (Economic Sciences), Institutions, Organizations & Growth, and Social Interactions, Identity & Well-Being
  • Anthony J. Leggett (Physics), Quantum Information Science
  • John C. Polanyi (Chemistry), Nanoelectronics
  • Philip W. Anderson (Physics), Quantum Materials
  • Daniel Kahneman (Economics) Social Interactions, Identity & Well-Being
  • Sidney Altman (Chemistry), Evolutionary Biology
  • Kenneth Arrow (Economic Sciences), Economic Growth & Policy
  • Walter Gilbert (Chemistry), Evolutionary Biology
  • Leland H. Hartwell (Medicine), Genetic Networks
  • Robert B. Laughlin (Physics), Quantum Materials Program
  • Richard J. Roberts (Medicine), Evolutionary Biology
  • Michael Smith (Chemistry), Evolutionary Biology Program
  • Willard Boyle (Physics), Research Council member
  • David Wineland (Physics), Advisory Committee Quantum Information Science

CIFAR supports 345 distinguished Canadian and international researchers:
  • 294 Program Members
  • 53 Advisory Committee Members

CIFAR researchers currently represent 16 countries:
Austria, Australia, Canada, China, Czech Republic, Finland, France, Germany, Israel, Italy, Japan, Netherlands, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States.

CIFAR researchers are based in Canada and abroad:
  • 61% of program members are based in Canada
  • 20% of advisory committee members are based in Canada

CIFAR researchers represent 109 academic and research institutions around the world:
  • Program members are based at 91 institutions
  • Advisory committee members are based at 43 additional institutions

Updated October, 2013
  • Share:
  • Print: