RESEARCH   Workshop

Women in Science Leadership Workshop 2018

Mar 22 - Mar 24 2018  

Kigali, Rwanda





Fostering diverse and inclusive leadership in academia

The Canadian Institute for Advanced Research (CIFAR), in partnership with the African Academy of Sciences (AAS), African Institute for Mathematical Sciences (AIMS) and the Global Young Academy (GYA), are co-organizing a workshop to foster diverse and inclusive leadership in academia.

This interactive skills-based leadership workshop brings together exceptional women leaders with early-career researchers from across disciplines and across the globe to develop the next generation of academic leaders.


Despite decades of progress, women working in science and technology continue to face overt or unconscious bias, outdated assumptions, and exclusion from informal networks. Women in these fields make less, are promoted less frequently, win fewer grants and are more likely to leave research than similarly qualified men (“Specials: Women in Science” Nature 495, 7 March 2013).

Through this workshop, researchers from across the globe will participate in a series of interactive discussions and hands-on activities. Participants will gain practical tools, new connections and coaching to increase their personal leadership capacity and ability to mentor others. Attendees will expand their global network through participation in global cafes – intimate discussion groups with women leaders from around the world and across sectors – sharing personal stories, experiences and lessons learned in a relaxed environment.

This workshop aims to empower early career researchers by asking them to challenge societal, cultural, institutional and individual barriers to diversity, equity and inclusion.



Keynote: Agnes Binagwaho
Vice Chancellor
University of Global Health Equity


Habiba Chakir

Senior Biologist/Evaluator
Ministry of Health of Canada

Rose Leke
Chair of the Board of Directors
National Medical Research Institute, Cameroon
Bio Outline

Antonia Maioni
McGill University
Dean of Arts

Geraldine Richmond
Presidential Chair in Science and Professor of Chemistry
University of Oregon

Ingrid Richter
Executive in Residence
Telfer School of Management

Jennifer Thomson
University of Cape Town
Molecular & Cell Biology
Bio Outline

Éliane Ubalijoro
McGill University
Institute for the Study of International Development
In partnership with: African_Academy_of_Science_logo-120x77 aims-250x64 GYA_Logo_20150318_oneColor-01-1-250x96